Our History

Attracted to the area by the beauty and wealth of its natural resources, settlers came to the Loon Lake area beginning in the 1870's.  Active businesses in the area included logging, copper mines, and ice gathering.  After several failed attempts to start a school by local residents, they were finally successful on May 6, 1889.  

School was first held in a log structure while the school board began plans in the mid-1920's to build a new, modern two-story frame structure.  The voters passed a bond and the construction of the Loon Lake Schoolhouse began.  The building was completed in 1929 at a total cost of $8,000.  The Old Schoolhouse was the home of Loon Lake School District until 1992.   

In 1992, construction was finished on our current school building just across the lawn, and the students and staff moved over.  The original school house was purchased by the Loon Lake Historical Society.  It was restored, and still maintains the original look and feel of an old schoolhouse.  It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is open to the public a couple of days a week.

So here we are in 2015, still serving the students and families of the Loon Lake community 126 years later.  We added a home-link program in 2003 and strive daily to provide the best education possible for our kids.  We are proud of our long, rich history and tradition, and are excited about where we are going.  


The Old Loon Lake Schoolhouse


Comments